(ONLINE) “Water: Mother Nature’s Blood” – film screening and panel with Guatemalan human rights defenders

Sunday, May 2, 2021 from 04:00 pm to 06:00 pm

Event Details

WHEN
Sunday, May 2, 2021 from 04:00 pm to 06:00 pm
COST
This is a free event!
Description

Join us at 4pm EST on Sunday May 2nd for the Canadian premiere of Water: Mother Nature’s Blood. This powerful 44-minute documentary from Guatemala tells the story of a courageous struggle by Maya Q’eqchi communities to protect their rights and access to life-sustaining water.

The screening will be followed by a not-to-be missed conversation with the film’s director Pepe Orozco Recinos and with Indigenous defender Isabel Matzir, partner of prisoner of conscience Bernardo Caal Xol, who is featured in the film.

Amnesty Canada is actively campaigning for the release of Bernardo Caal Xol, who has been unjustly imprisoned for the past 3 years for peacefully leading the struggle of his people to defend their rights and the Cahabón River on which they depend. The event will offer opportunities to take solidarity action. For more information on our call to action please read here.

The documentary will be live streamed on Youtube Premiere @4pm EST. The panel will start @5pm EST.

Registration for film and panel HERE. Please note closer to the event date all registrants will receive an email with information on how to access the film.

The event is organized by the AI Climate Justice and Corporate Accountability Specialized Team – Environmental HRs Defenders/ Bernardo Caal sub group.

Contact: ianheide@yahoo.com

1pm Pacific; 2pm Mountain; 3pm Central; 4pm Eastern; 5pm Atlantic; 5:30pm Newfoundland

Cost and Tickets

Cost & Tickets

This is a free event!
Organizer
Organizer info not provided for this event.
Venue
No venue info provided for this event.
×

Add this event to your calendar

This option adds this event as an imported feed. The feed is synchronized hourly and counts as 1 additional feed against your Synced Import limit.
This option adds a copy of this event to one of the above, without synchronizing future updates and it doesn’t count against your Synced Import limit.
© Amnesty International Canada